Which countries have never won a medal at the Olympic Games?

07/19/2021 at 5:50 PM CEST


Among the 205 countries that will participate in the Tokyo Olympics, there are 71 who have never won an Olympic medal.

Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, El Salvador, Honduras, Libya, Malta, Nepal, Nicaragua or Palestine are on that list of teams that will arrive at the Tokyo Games with the intention of making their debut on the podium, something that an average of five countries have achieved in each of the last three editions.

This is how it has evolved

At the Rio 2016 Games, three debuted in the medal table and all of them with gold medals: Fiji (rugby), Kosovo (judo) and Jordan (taekwondo).

In London 2012, Bahrain, Botswana, Cyprus, Gabon, Grenada, Guatemala and Montenegro were medalists for the first time. And four years earlier, in Beijing 2008, Afghanistan, Mauritius, Sudan, Tajikistan and Togo were on the podium by winning the first medals in their history.

In Europe, only Albania, Andorra, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco and San Marino have their medal table blank.

The unreleased countries on the American continent are Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bolivia, British Virgin Islands, Dominica, El Salvador, Grenadines, Honduras, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Nicaragua, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent, Cayman Islands and Belize.

In Asia they are Bangladesh, Burma, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Maldives, Nepal, Oman, Palestine, East Timor, Turkmenistan and Yemen.

In Africa, Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi have not won medals. Mali, Mauritania, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan and Swaziland.

American Samoa, Cook Islands, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu are the countries in Oceania without a medal in Olympic history.

No golds

Of the 205 who will compete in Tokyo (North Korea has given up doing it), to which must be added the Olympic Refugee Team that will participate under the IOC flag, there are 38 who, although they have ever won a medal, never they have obtained the gold one.

In search of their first Olympic champion, Malaysia, Namibia, Philippines, Moldova, Iceland, Lebanon, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Qatar, Ghana, Kyrgyzstan, Saudi Arabia, Haiti, Niger, Zambia, Botswana, Cyprus, Gabon, Guatemala, Montenegro will also go. , Paraguay, Samoa, Senegal, Sudan, Tonga, Virgin Islands, Afghanistan, Kuwait, Barbados, Bermuda, Djibouti, Eritrea, Guyana, Iraq, Mauritius, Monaco, North Macedonia, and Togo.

Those who have stayed closest to gold have been Malaysia and the Philippines, which have eleven and ten medals, respectively, but none is gold.

Star Wars: C-3PO and R2-D2 could appear in the Obi-Wan Kenobi series – .

How to navigate safely on the Internet