Poker of aces in the return of Baja Spain Aragón

07/21/2021 at 12:11 CEST


The Baja Spain Aragon, which is played from July 22 to 24 After the stoppage of the last edition due to the coronavirus pandemic, it will have a record of luxury drivers in the case of cars with the presence of Yasir Seaidan, Orlando Terranova, Joan “Nani” Roma, Sebastien Loeb and Nasser Al-Attiyah.

The Teruel appointment, the only Spanish event scoring for the FIA ​​Bajas Cross Country and FIM Bajas World Cup, It will be one of the editions with the most aspiring to climb to the top of the podium as it will feature true legends of rallying and Dakar.

The XXXVII edition of Baja España Aragón will be a record, with more than 200 registered teams, of which 132 will take part in the car category. The current leader of the World Cup, the Saudi Yasir seaidan, arrives in Spain after having won the previous two rounds of the contest, those held in Saudi Arabia and Jordan, and will be one of the many contenders for victory.

The current winner of the 2019 edition, the Argentine Orlando Newfoundland, will share a team with two other candidates for victory, the Spanish Joan “Nani” Roma (five times winner in Aragon in cars, the last in 2015, and four times in motorcycles, and winner of the Dakar in 2014 in cars and in 2004 in motorcycles) and the Frenchman Sebastien Loeb (nine times world champion of rallies) that he will choose to register his name for the first time in the list of winners.

Another favorite to climb to the top of the box is a regular in the Aragonese race, Qatari Nasser Al-Attiyah (three-time Dakar champion) that he will seek his fourth triumph in Baja España Aragón. TOl Attiyah will compete at the wheel of the Toyota Hilux of the Overdrive structure sharing boxes with pilots like the Saudi Yazeed Al-Rajhi or the Dutch Erik Van Loon. They join Gerard Farrés (five-time Baja winner) e Isidre Esteve (six wins in the Aragonese race).

Illustrious guests

In addition to the usual names, the presence of the Superbike champion and MotoGP rider, Carlos Checa, stands out. Ciryl neveu, five times winner of the Dakar in the 80s, or the German Jutta Kleinschmidt, first and only woman to win a Dakar Rally (2001). The driver from Colonia returns to Baja Aragón and will do so at the wheel of a Mini to continue adding kilometers for the next Extreme E event.

A special case will be that of the Saudi Mashael Alobaidan, As she will be the first pilot from that country to compete outside the Middle East in preparation for her landing in the Dakar Rally in 2022.

They will not be the only women who will compete in this edition of Baja Aragón because the Australian will also be there Molly taylor, the british Catie munnings (Extreme E driver), the French Marion Andrieu, the Italian-Spanish Christine Giampaoli and her co-driver Rosa Romero with a Toyota Hilux and also Monica Plaza at the wheel of a Toyota Land Cruiser.

In the truck category the favorite is the Czech Martin Macik, with two triumphs in the Aragonese race (2017 and 2019), although it will have tough rivals in Tomas Vratny, Maurik Van Den Heuvel, Javier Mariezkurrena and Alex Aguirregaviria.

La Baja will have two stages in which 580 kilometers will be completed that will run between the regions of Jiloca and the Community of Teruel.

This Thursday the technical verifications will take place and administrative in the Palace of Exhibitions and Congresses of Teruel. On Friday the first day will start with 180 timed km while on Saturday it will be 353.

ep / apa

This is very hard: listen and see the Suns coach after losing the NBA final

Samsung confirms the Galaxy Unpacked on August 11, what do we expect?